The Judges

The White Rose Award Judging Panel

Professor Colin Mellors, Chair of the Judging Panel 

Having worked at universities in all four parts of the region - East, North, South and West - Colin can claim strong Yorkshire credentials. His academic interest in political behaviour, and how decisions are made, no doubt helps him with the difficult task of guiding the panel in their own decision-making. Previously, Pro-Vice Chancellor at the University of Bradford and more recently the University of York, he is now an Emeritus Professor at York. Colin has devoted much of his time to roles in the public sector focusing on business development and capacity building with private sector and community partners. Other current roles include chairing the Yorkshire Regional Flood and Coastal Committee and the Local Government Boundary Commission for England.


Mark Bradley, Customer Service Specialist 

Mark Bradley is the founder of The Fan Experience Company, who specialise in customer service and engagement in sport. Mark has many years' experience in customer service & service excellence, including researching it, commentating on it, consulting and writing books on the subject. Mark's specialism is using the customer perspective as a catalyst for change & improvement with business - a key challenge for any tourism business. 


James Mitchinson, Johnston Press Yorkshire & Yorkshire Post Newspapers

James Mitchinson is Editorial Director for Johnston Press Yorkshire and Editor of The Yorkshire Post. James has been in his role as Editor of The Yorkshire Post since January 2016. Previously he was editor at The Star in Sheffield, Derbyshire Times, Grantham Journal and Worksop Guardian Series. 


Elaine Lemm, Food Writer 

Following a successful career as a chef and restaurateur, Elaine Lemm is a highly respected food and drink writer, recently voted one of the top 50 in the UK. She has a great passion for British Food, both modern and traditional. For seven years as Food and Wine Editor at Yorkshire Life Magazine she initiated and developed their annual Food and Wine awards and launched the first food-dedicated magazine in the county.